India announce squad for Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

he Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the 15-member squad on Tuesday which will be led by Rohit Sharma with Hardik Pandya being the vice-captain.

India has named their 15-player squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

India’s pursuit of the much-awaited glory will be spearheaded by Rohit Sharma, as the BCCI revealed their roster for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Before the announcement, a lot of people were speculating about who will be the wicketkeeper and competing for the position. In the end, India has given the gloves to Sanju Samson and Rishabh Pant. With this, Pant will play in an international cricket match for the first time since an injury that almost killed him in December 2022 and sidelined him for over a year.

Must Read: Top 8 Longest Sixes in the History of International Cricket

Shivan Dube’s IPL form made it difficult for him to be left out as he kept his place in the squad after featuring in the recent T20I series against Afghanistan. The 30-year-old has been in scintillating form for the Chennai Super Kings, amassing 350 runs in nine matches at an impressive strike rate of 172.41.

India have opted for a spin-heavy bowling lineup consisting of Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal while the pace battery will be led by Jasprit Bumrah with the support of Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj and vice-captain Hardik Pandya.

There were no surprises in the selection of the batters, with Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav all expected to shore the top order alongside captain Rohit.

Shubman Gill and Rinku Singh only find a place amongst the reserves along with pacers Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan.

A big name missing from India’s list is that of KL Rahul, who was part of India’s last two T20 World Cup campaigns (2021 and 2022).

About neoprimesport 1590 Articles
Neoprimesport is a website dedicated to cover and provide information of all types of sports and their events. We also provides latest news on sports.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.