Top 5 Longest sixes in the IPL History Till Now

BCCI might cancel the 13th season of the IPL amid the coronavirus outbreak in the country.

The shortest format of the game has brought the crowd to the game and the fascinating scenes that have attracted the hoi polloi are those longest sixes that have landed on the other planet. In this article, we bring to you the 5 longest sixes in IPL’s history.

With the presence of the best players from around the globe, the IPL often sees gargantuan sixes being hit on the comparatively small Indian grounds. Some of them are listed below:

Here are the Longest six in IPL history:

5) Albie Morkel (125m)

Chennai Super Kings all-rounder Albie Morkel holds the record for the longest six in the history of the Indian Premier League. The southpaw had targeted Deccan Chargers spinner Pragyan Ojha to hit him over cow corner for a gigantic six.

Image result for Chennai Super Kings all-rounder Albie Morkel
Chennai Super Kings’ most aggressive batsmen

It happened during the 26th match of IPL 2008 when Morkel scored 29* (19) with the help of one four and two sixes to propel CSK to 144/7 in 20 overs.

4) Adam Gilchrist (122m)

Former Australia wicket-keeper batsman and Kings XI Punjab captain Adam Gilchrist has hit the third-longest six in the history of the IPL. A naturally big-hitter of the ball, the southpaw featuring in this list shouldn’t be a surprise for you.

Image result for Kings XI Punjab captain Adam Gilchrist
Kings XI Punjab captain Adam Gilchrist plays a shot.

Gilchrist had taken on Royal Challengers Bangalore pacer Charl Langeveldt when he eyed the mid-wicket boundary for a huge six. In what was one of the nine sixes which Gilchrist hit that night, he ended up scoring 106 (55) as Punjab scored 232-2 in 20 overs.

3) Praveen Kumar (124m)

While not many of you would have expected the name of former India and Kings XI Punjab pacer Praveen Kumar in this list, what will surprise you further is him hitting a 124-meter six off Mumbai Indians fast bowler Lasith Malinga – highest wicket-taker in the history of IPL.

Image result for Kings XI PunjaB Paveen Kumar
Praveen Kumar became the 7th bowler in Indian Premier League history to take a hat trick against Rajasthan Royals in M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore.

Coming in to bat during the slog overs, Kumar had used the long handle against to send the ball high and long in the air.

2) Robin Uthappa (120m)

Image result for Robin Uthappa
Kolkata Knight Riders Have A Strong Core For Next 5-7 Years.

Robin Uthappa, who is at No. 11 in the list of most sixes hit in the IPL, also features in the list of longest sixes in the IPL. Back in the day when Uthappa played for Royal Challengers Bangalore, he hit an enormous six in one of the matches against Chennai Super Kings.

1) Ross Taylor (119m)

Playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore in the inaugural season of the IPL, veteran New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor had hit former New Zealand and the then Chennai Super Kings all-rounder Jacob Oram for a massive six over deep mid-wicket.

Image result for Ross Taylor ROYAL CHALLENGER BANGLORE
Ross Taylor Six.

Coming in to bat at No. 3 in the fourth over, Taylor took on Oram in the following over to make his intentions clear. Having shared an 89-run partnership for the second wicket with opening batsman Wasim Jaffer (50), Taylor ended up scoring 53 (34) with the help of three fours and three sixes.

Facebook Comments
About neoprimesport 1022 Articles
Neoprimesports is a website dedicated to cover and provide information of all types of sports and their events. We also provides latest news on sports.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.