Messi, Aguero and Di Maria in Argentina’s Copa America squad

Lionel Messi and Sergio Aguero will lead Argentina in Copa America 2019.

Argentina haven’t won a major trophy since the 1993 Copa America in Ecuador.

Argentina included Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero and Angel Di Maria in their Copa America squad, while Inter Milan striker Mauro Icardi was left out.

Argentina coach Lionel Scaloni announced his list on Tuesday, with the attacking trio of Messi, Di Maria and Aguero looking for their first major international title after losing three finals – at the 2014 World Cup and 2015 and 2016 Copa America.

Argentina’s Sergio Aguero (center) celebrates after scoring with teammates Lionel Messi (right) and Angel Di Maria (Source: AP file)

Argentina hasn’t won a major trophy since the 1993 Copa America in Ecuador.

Scaloni called up Aguero for the first time since taking over as interim coach following the World Cup in Russia after the striker helped Manchester City complete a domestic treble in England.

Trending: Records & Achievements of Messi vs Ronaldo

“The figures speak for themselves,” Scaloni said about Aguero. “We need to make the pieces fit so we give him the chance to do what he does for his club.”

Icardi has been a regular in Scaloni’s squads but he recently lost his starting position at Inter because of a contract dispute and the Argentina coach prefers to pick players that get more playing time for their teams.

Scaloni included nine players that were at the World Cup in Russia last year, mixed with a new generation that includes Tottenham defender Juan Foyth, Udinese midfielder Rodrigo de Paul and River Plate striker Exequiel Palacios.

“We are building something today,” said Cesar Luis Menotti, the 1978 World Cup-winning coach who is now a director at Argentina’s football federation. “The objective is to prepare for the World Cup, but that doesn’t mean Copa America is not important.”

Argentina is in Group B with Colombia, Paraguay, and Qatar. Their first match will be against Colombia on June 15 in Salvador.

Argentina will start training on June 27 for the South American tournament.


Goalkeepers: Esteban Andrada (Boca Juniors), Franco Armani (River Plate), Agustin Marchesin (America de Mexico).

Defenders: Renzo Saravia (Racing), Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City), Juan Foyth (Tottenham), German Pezzella (Fiorentina), Ramiro Funes Mori (Villarreal), Milton Casco (River Plate), Nicolas Tagliafico (Ajax), Marcos Acuna (Sporting Lisbon).

Midfielders: Rodrigo De Paul (Udinese), Leandro Paredes, Angel Di Maria (Paris Saint-Germain), Roberto Pereyra (Watford), Giovani Lo Celso (Real Betis), Guido Rodriguez (America de Mexico), Exequiel Palacios (River Plate).

Strikers: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Matias Suarez (River Plate), Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan).

Why So: Steven Gerrard claims Mohamed Salah is better than Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi

Facebook Comments
About neoprimesport 1022 Articles
Neoprimesports is a website dedicated to cover and provide information of all types of sports and their events. We also provides latest news on sports.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.