FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019: Complete guide to all nine venues in France

The 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup 2019 trophy.

It’s time for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup as the major women’s football event kicks off in France from today, Friday, June 7. The grand event will be held from June 7 to July 7, 2019. The international event takes place once every four years (quadrennial), just like the men’s FIFA World Cup.

France had won the bidding rights to hold the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in March 2015. This is the first time that France will hold the event. Learn everything you need to know about the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup event here, including the schedule and the teams competing.

Image result for Women's World Cup 2019
2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The United States is the defending champions, as they won the event four years back. The 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup beginning from today will be the first time that the tournament will use the video assistant referee (VAR) system. This is the eighth FIFA Women’s World Cup event.

Must Read: List of Stadiums in Qatar for FIFA World Cup 2022

A total of 24 teams (nations) are participating in the event this time. Jamaica, the first Carribean country to play in the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, are making their debut in the prestigious and pinnacle women’s football event.

The first match will be played between hosts France and the Republic of Korea on Friday at the Parc des Princes. The match will be played at 21:00 local time. In India, the match will be telecast live at 12.30 AM Indian Standard Time – (IST). The final match will take place on July 7 in France’s capital city of Lyon.

The 24 countries participating are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China PR, England, France, Germany, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea Republic, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, and the USA. The teams are divided into six groups: Group A, Group B, Group C, Group D, Group E, Group F. Each group contains six teams.

Also Read: Top 10 Richest Female Soccer Players in the world (Updated List)

The previous FIFA Women’s World Cup, the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup was the seventh Women’s World Cup tournament. The quadrennial international women’s football world championship was hosted by Canada for the first time. It was the third time that a North American country held the event. USA and Japan made it to the finals, and the USA won the match as well as the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup tournament.

Top 10 Successful Footballers of FIFA Women’s World Cup of all time

Facebook Comments
About neoprimesport 863 Articles
Neoprimesports is a website dedicated to cover and provide information of all types of sports and their events. We also provides latest news on sports.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.