Top 3 Greatest moments in Indian Cricket history

Indian Cricket team had its own ups and down in the past, but cricket will always remain in the hearts of billion cricket fans. We decided to take a step back and review the top 3 greatest moments in the Indian Cricket history.

The 1983 Cricket World Cup was the third edition of the ICC tournament.

1.) 25th June, 1983, Lord’s, London: Cricket World Cup Finals


The 1983 Cricket World Cup was the third edition of the ICC tournament. The matches consisted of 60 overs per team. India defeated the hosts England in the semi-finals and had to play against West Indies which had one of the best bowling attacks during that time.

India won the toss and elected to bat.

India: 183 (54.4 overs)

West Indies: 140 (52 overs)

Result: India won by 43 runs

Man of the Match: Mohinder Amarnath


It was certainly one of the greatest moment in the history of Cricket as the new CHAMPIONS were born.


2.) 24th September, 2007, Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg: ICC World T20 Championship Finals


Year 2007, it was the first ever ICC World T20 tournament and in the finals were India competing with Pakistan, a combat with attracts roughly around 1 billion viewers and cricket fans.


The Indian Captain, M.S. Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat.

India: 157/5 (20 overs)

Pakistan: 152/ all out (19.3 overs)

Result: India won by 5 runs

Man of the Match: Irfan Pathan


With this win, India won the second ICC world title for the first time after the historic victory in 1983 Cricket World Cup.


3.) 2nd April, 2011, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai: ICC Cricket World Cup Finals


It was the first World Cup where both the teams from Asia were in the finals. The hosts India were playing again SriLanka who qualified for the finals second time in a row (previous in 2007, defeated by Australia).


Kumar Sangakkara, the SriLankan Captain won the toss and elected to bat.

SriLanka: 274/6 (50 overs)

India: 277/4 (48.2 overs)

Result: India won by 6 wickets

Man of the Match: M.S. Dhoni

With this win, India became the only cricket team to win the 60 over, 50 over and 20 over World Cup. The players dedicated this victory to the victims of the 26/11 Mumbai attacks, and to the soldiers guarding Indian borders. Virat Kohli and other players also dedicated this win to God of Cricket, Sachin Tendulkar.

Facebook Comments
About neoprimesport 1022 Articles
Neoprimesports is a website dedicated to cover and provide information of all types of sports and their events. We also provides latest news on sports.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.