Fifa Awards 2019: Megan Rapinoe wins FIFA Women’s Player of the Year ahead of Alex Morgan

Megan Rapinoe Wins FIFA Women's Player of the Year, Calls for Players Around the World.

Megan Rapinoe has been named the best women’s footballer of the year at a Fifa ceremony in Milan after leading the USA to the World Cup in France.

Megan Rapinoe, who helped lead the U.S. women’s soccer team to their fourth Women’s World Cup title this summer, was named FIFA’s Best Women’s Player in the World on Monday in Milan, Italy.

The women’s soccer star accepted the top individual women’s prize at FIFA’s best gala, beating out her U.S. women’s soccer teammate Alex Morgan (who came in 2nd) and England’s Lucy Bronze (who came in 3rd).

Fifa Awards 2019: Lionel Messi wins best FIFA player of the year award for record 6th time

Lionel Messi and Megan Rapinoe pose with their best FIFA player of the year awards.

The 34-year-old has been a noted advocate for pay equality between women’s and men’s soccer and was one of 28 players who sued the United States Soccer Federation for gender discrimination.

Carli Lloyd: 5 Things To Know About The Superstar Ahead Of The Women’s World Cup

Rapinoe gained national attention during the Women’s World Cup for speaking out against President Donald Trump. “Your message is excluding people.

You’re excluding me, you’re excluding people that look like me, you’re excluding people of color, you’re excluding, you know, Americans that maybe support you,” Rapinoe, who is gay, told CNN’s Anderson Cooper in July when asked about her message to the President.

Must Read: Top 10 Successful Footballers of FIFA Women’s World Cup of all time

She is the fourth American to win the FIFA Best Women’s Player in the World award following Mia Hamm, Abby Wambach, and Carli Lloyd.

Fifa Best awards 2019:

Men’s playerLionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

Women’s player – Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC and the United States)

Men’s coach – Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Women’s coach – Jill Ellis (United States)

Men’s goalkeeper – Alisson Becker (Liverpool and Brazil)

Women’s goalkeeper – Sari Van Veenendaal (Atletico Madrid and Holland)

Puskas award – Daniel Zsori (Debrecen/Fehervar)

Fan award – Silvia Grecco (Palmeiras)

Fair play award – Marcelo Bielsa and the Leeds squad

FIFPro men’s world XI – Alisson; Matthijs De Ligt, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Virgil Van Dijk; Frenkie De Jong, Eden Hazard, Luka Modric; Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi

FIFPro women’s world XI – Sari Van Veenendaal; Lucy Bronze, Nilla Fischer, Kelley O’Hara, Wendie Renard; Julie Ertz, Amandine Henry, Rose Lavelle; Marta, Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe

Facebook Comments
About neoprimesport 1051 Articles
Neoprimesports is a website dedicated to cover and provide information of all types of sports and their events. We also provides latest news on sports.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.