Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians to start IPL-10 prep camp from Saturday

Three-time winners Mumbai Indians finished fifth in the previous edition of Indian Premier League.

The 2017 Indian Premier League (10th edition of the tournament) will begin on April 5 and Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are beginning their preparations.

Two-time Indian Premier League (IPL) champions Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Mumbai Indians (MI) will start their preparations for the tenth edition of the cash-rich cricket league here from Saturday.

The KKR side, however, were dealt a major blow after their star recruit New Zealand’s Trent Boult recently sustained an injury during the Kiwis ongoing Test series against South Africa at home.

The left-arm seamer who was roped in by KKR for a whopping five crores failed to recover in time from the groin injury that forced him out of the second Test, won by the Proteas in Wellington last weekend.

Extra Cover: IPL 2017: Top 4 teams with strongest Indian contingents

Meanwhile, skipper Gautam Gambhir is slated to join the men in purple on Monday.

The likes of Sheldon Jackson, Ankit Rajpoot and Sayan Ghosh will assemble on Saturday along with assistant coach and former Australia southpaw Simon Katich. Head coach Jacques Kallis will join the side later due to personal reasons, it was learnt.

Mumbai Indians will begin their preparatory camp under coach Mahela Jayawardene. (Source: BCCI)

Mumbai camp:

Jayawardene will be joined by the existing team of support staff, including Robin Singh (batting coach), Jonty Rhodes (fielding coach), Shane Bond (bowling coach), Paul Chapman (trainer) and Nitin Patel (physio).

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah and all-rounder Hardik Pandya will be joined on Saturday by the latest picks of the IPL auction,

Karn Sharma, Krishnappa Gowtham, Saurabh Tiwary along with the retained players Jagadeesha Suchith, Vinay Kumar, Nitesh Rana, Deepak Punia and Jitesh Sharma.

Nicolas Pooran, the 21-year-old West Indian, is the first international player to join the camp while the likes of Mitchell Johnson, Asela Gunarathne, Jos Buttler, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga, Tim Southee, Kieron Pollard and Lendl Simmons will follow in the coming days.

Harbhajan Singh, Parthiv Patel, Ambati Rayudu, Krunal Pandya and Kulwant Khejroliya are currently playing for the Deodhar Trophy at Visakhapatnam, a release said.

Facebook Comments
About neoprimesport 1023 Articles
Neoprimesports is a website dedicated to cover and provide information of all types of sports and their events. We also provides latest news on sports.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.